Google has introduced a new feature called Inactive Account Manager today that helps you to tell Google what you want to do with your account when you die or you can no longer use the account. This feature is available in the Google Accounts setting page. You can easily tell Google what to be done with your Gmail messages or data from other Google services. For instance you can opt for deleting your data after three, six, nine or 12 months of inactivity.
You can also select some of your trusted contacts to receive data from some or all of the following services by Google like +1s; Blogger; Contacts and Circles; Drive; Gmail; Google+ Profiles, Pages and Streams; Picasa Web Albums; Google Voice and YouTube. It’s up to you whether you want it to be shared or not.
Soon after you make a request, you will first get a warning message to your cell phone from Google. Apart from that an email will be sent to the secondary address that you have already provided. It will protect your privacy and security and make life easier for your loved ones once you leave.
For getting this service activated you can follow these steps given below followed by the sreen shots:
- When you click on the accounts you will find a short description about the service, you can click on the blue Setup button.
- The setup page contains four sections, In the “Alert me” field, you need to provide a mobile number to which the Google will send a warning text message one month prior to your account’s inactivation. You can also provide an alternate e-mail address. The next field, “Timeout period,” helps the Google to find out the period of inactivity, to find out when you are dead.
You can set it as 3, 6, 9, or 12 months. In the next section;”Notify contacts and share data,”you can add about ten contacts to whom you wish to share your data. They will be notified when your account become select.
You can check the box and select which service you wish to share with them. When your time period is up, they will be able to download your data for three months. You can give phone numbers of the contacts so that the Google can send verification codes when they wish to access your data. You can even set an auto-response for all incoming e-mails to your Gmail address once your account gets inactive. In the fourth section there is an option for deleting your account permanently after the inactive period as well.